Tasveer South Asian Film Festival is the largest South Asian film festival in the United States. Seeking to provide a counterpoint to the images and stories prevalent in main stream South Asia and Bollywood, the festival encourages an atmosphere of thoughtful dialogue and creative inquiry, where filmmakers and audiences engage in lively discussions, forums, and other collaborative interactive formats. In 2019, the festival will screen over 60 films and welcome 5000 attendees over 11 days, in 5 cities.

‘India’ is the festival focus for 2019. TSAFF 2019 will include films–shorts, experimental work, documentaries, and narratives of any length–on themes related to South Asia in its entirety: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the various diasporas across the world. Films with a focus on issues of human rights and social justice will be a highlight of the festival again this year.

Tasveer is a non-profit film and arts organization. Tasveer’s mission is to inspire social change through thought-provoking film and arts.

Questions? Email us or call 425.647.3450.

2019 Festival Staff

Executive Director: Rita Meher

Sponsorship Manager: Khenrab Palden

Festival Manager: Siddhi Ghai

Programming Coordinator: Ketki Asher

Communications Manager: Elliat Graney-Saucke

Tasveer Youth Collective Lead: Seema Bahl

Programming: Ketki Asher, Jayant Swamy, Nikita Raja, J Wong, Deepti Mandalia, Devika Menon, Arlene Plevin, Mustansir Mukadam, Laila Kazmi, Lyle Pearson, Batool Rabani, Prasad Joshi, Sudha Sreedhara, PG Ghosh, Rita Meher

Marketing: Shilpa Kulkarni, Devika Menon, Olympia Bhatt, Nikita Raja, Poornima Janakiraman

Website:  Sriya Pathaneni, Siddhi Ghai, Mustansir Mukadam, Ketki Asher, Shraddha Nayar, Sumathi Raghvan, Sheraz Malik, Rina Koseki

Youth Interns: Rasan Kamolkar, Sriya Pathaneni, Rina Koseki

Gala Nights Team: Saira Bano, Sowmya Nanjaiah, Shilpa Kulkarni, Siddhi Ghai

Guest Liaison: Siddhi Ghai, Ketki Asher, Saira Bano

Content Creators: Olympia Bhatt, Elliat Graney-Saucke

Graphic Design: Kaifu Lam, Alex Bijaye, Mei Kurahashi

The Tasveer Board

Rita Meher, Co-founder and Executive Director, Tasveer

Farah Nousheen- Co-founder, Tasveer

Shahina Piyarali, Board President

Alka Kurian, Board Secretary

Anita Waghani, Board Treasurer

Prachi Vora

Sheraz Malik

Morgan Wells

Ashish Shah

Sumathi Raghvan

Debadutta Dash